Halfway!

Harmon was six months on the 1st of June!  I waited to post his six month photos until after his 6-month well child check today.  He weighed 13lbs 8oz on June 1st & today at his appointment he weighed 13lbs 12oz & is 25.5inches long.  His height is hovering just below the 5th percentile for breastfed babies & his weight is under the 1st percentile.  During the last two months I have fretted & worried non-stop about his weight.  I’ve taken him to the lactation clinic multiple times and tried all sorts of ways to try to get him to eat more (& thus gain weight faster)…but, basically, it all boils down to Harmon is just a small person!  He also has a dairy/soy intolerance.  It’s been about two months since I’ve given up eating any dairy at all & we’ve noticed a marked change in his personality, sleeping habits, and gut issues.  His poos are no longer green!  His eczema isn’t raging red!  Life is good!  But, boy oh boy, do I ever miss dairy…I’m a total cliche…I’m from Wisconsin & my favorite food is cheese!  This no-dairy diet, however, sure is good for weight loss.  I’ve never dropped so much weight so quickly in my life.  (I’m fairly certain I’ve blogged about this before, haven’t I??)His hair is getting thicker, but it’s still mostly fuzz.  Sometimes it looks blonde-red & other times a very light brown.

 

We visited the butterfly house at Reiman Gardens in Ames last month as part of June’s birthday gift (June LOVES butterflies!).  I think Harmon was watching the butterflies flit past him in the carrier a few times!

June continues to love her brother “so much” & often a little too much…but Harmon seems to tolerate her antics better every day.

Harmon has been my helper at the nature center in Buchanan County several times now.  He’s a very well behaved volunteer. πŸ™‚
In the morning from about 4AM until 7ish he fusses in his sleep a lot & has to be rocked, bounced, nursed, etc to get those last few hours of sleep in, sleep we both need.We’ve taken to calling him our “Hobbit” due to his small size.  He is so very tiny!  And so cute!  Coralee, Merritt, & I all finished reading The Hobbit recently & watched the Peter Jackson trilogy, so we were mostly influenced in that regard with his new nickname.  We also call him Harmie, Harmonica, HARmione (like Hermione), Little Man, & Little Jerry (he looks like my dad sometimes, we think).We visited the local ER on Memorial Day weekend for what I thought was a choking incident.  I had Brian call 911 as I was convinced he was choking on something (a toy?)–he quit breathing, he was gagging, it was all incredibly scary!  The EMTs checked him out & felt it was not an emergency situation (the incident that prompted me to yell at Brian to call 911 only lasted like ten seconds), but that we should have an X-ray done to rule out anything being swallowed.  Nothing showed up on the X-ray save for a lot of gas…the on-call doctor kept commenting on how much gas he had in his stomach & that she could hear it with her stethoscope, too.  I believe Harmon does have some issues with acid bubbling up & since the non-choking choking incident he has done this no-breathing/gagging thing several more times…scares the dickens out of me every time, too.He was in a fairly good mood despite being up way past his 7pm bedtime.  Poor little man!He’s wearing a tee (above) that I wore as a baby from Matagorda, TX.  My dad was born & grew up in Matagorda County.  I hope we get to take Harmon (& June!) to the beach in Matagorda someday.  My older kids ask to go again all the time.Merritt & June have had swimming lessons every morning for the past week in town.  Harmon & I hang out in the car mostly due to the HEAT around here.  A heat index of 100’F is too much for a baby!Harmon & I like to hang out on the back porch in the morning before the other kids wake up.  We listen to the birds & have our coffee & toast with mashed avocado on it.  Harmon has been “eating” little bites of avocado, carrot, & potato for about a week now.  He’s not really into it at all….mostly he spits it out or wipes it all over himself.  His feet in this photo crack me up, for some reason.  Those toes!  He is very good at using both his feet to manipulate toys, actually.  He also continues grabbing things with his left hand much more so than his right.  His right is what we call “the beater”–he hits/bangs/beats on stuff (my back!) with his right hand a lot.  June used to pat people who picked her up on the back, too, like Harmon has started doing to me now. ❀ ❀ ❀

Harmon has a friend a few miles down the road who was born three weeks after him!  They like to hang out together while his mother & I “knit”…Merritt says we mostly just “yenta” like the mom on the American television show “The Goldbergs.”  He is completely correct, of course, but I will continue to say “I have knitting tonight” at least once a month. πŸ˜‰Sometimes I catch him playing with his feet & cooing in bed in the morning after sleeping in a bit longer than me.  He likes to watch the ceiling fan, too.He looks just like my dad in this photo, I think!

He began sitting up unassisted on June 9th!  Yeah, Harmon!  He also started saying “ba-ba” on June 11th & has been practicing his one & only “word” ever since.June likes to sing to Harmon.  Right now her favorite song is “I Wanna Hold Your Hand” by the Beatles.  When I was pregnant with him she sang “Beautiful Boy” by John Lennon to my belly all the time.  We also have found that practically since birth he enjoys listening to “Bad” by Michael Jackson.  If he’s freaking out in the carseat, the kids will blast that song on my iPhone & he usually stops his fit.  He definitely likes music.  He also loves love loves his mama.  He’s a total mama’s boy, no doubt, but is very interested in what is happening around him at all times, too.  Just don’t take him away from his mama! πŸ˜‰

You’re halfway to a year, Harmon Hunter!  Happy Half Birthday!  You keep being you, our little hobbit!

3 thoughts on “Halfway!

  1. BEAUTIFUL tribute to my littlest grandchild! Such BEAUTIFUL pictures, Ruby! He’s growing so fast…..treasure every moment! Happy 6th month birthday Harmon Hunter!!! Love, Nana

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Yarn Along {how to try a sweater on a baby} | Being Bodeker

Leave a Reply

