High Five!

High five, Harmon, you’re five months old!  And you’re so handsomely cute!  (I’m not sure if he actually is handsome, but I’ve had several strangers tell me in the past week that he is a “handsome boy”.)

So much has changed as of late.  I took Harmon to a lactation consultant the day after he turned five months & she agreed with what I have been suspecting since his four month well-child check–he has a milk soy protein intolerance.  We will have him officially tested at his six-month check, but for now I have cut dairy entirely, even “hidden dairy”.  It’s been three weeks since I cut most dairy & one week since I went cold-turkey & I can definitely see improvement.  [WARNING, TMI ahead!]  His stools are finally becoming seedy/yellow again, he no longer has constant diarrhea, his eczema patches on his torso/legs are no longer flaring angry raised red, & he’s napping better!!!!  The last week he has steadily been building toward consisten 1-2 hour naps 3X per day!  Miracles do happen!!!! 😉 

Harmon remains a tiny tiny person.  I think now that I’ve completely cut dairy & he’s not pooing 24/7 anymore, he will begin to gain weight better.  At five months he weighs exactly 13 lbs–2nd percentile, yikes!  So he’s slipped a few percentiles since his birthweight.  He doesn’t appear tiny to most people, but when you pick him up, you realize it instantly.  I thought this photo & the previous one illustrate his smallness fairly well. He loves looking at our vast collection of laminated pocket guides.June continues to LOVE her brother so much.  Harmon remains a bit leery, but he does laugh at her antics sometimes.He still likes to support himself up against furniture.  Finding toys in the baby toys bin is one of his favorite pasttimes, but he does get frustrated fairly quickly if he can’t reach what he wants.  He can roll from tummy to back, but hardly ever does….he just fusses on his tummy.  No sitting up, no scooting, no crawling.  I can still lay him down & he goes nowhere, but he’s not usually happy about it!  He prefers to sleep on his side.  Getting to sleep around 7PM at night involves a lot of bouncing; nursing doesn’t do the trick anymore.  He rubs his face on everything when he’s starting to get tired.Mama’s savior!!!  I usually prefer a little coffee with my heavy cream, so cutting dairy nearly did me in until I found this gem.Harmon loves his feet.  He also prefers hard toys over soft & everything goes in the mouth usually with his left hand.  My dad & his sister are left-handed & there are zero left-handed kids/grandkids in our family so a lefty would be awesome!  I realize it’s too early to tell, but I’m not imagining it that he does seem to use his left hand a majority of the time right now.  He’s still solidly a mama’s boy & sometimes tolerates Coralee, but he’s got major stranger anxiety.  He likes to sit on my lap on the back porch & just watch what happens in the backyard.  He loves sucking on the bottom of cold glasses, but he’s still exclusively breastfed.  Eating when he’s away from the house, however, is practically impossible unless he’s in the Tula.  Too much to see!  I also think he’s just a creature of habit & does not do well away from his routine.  He basically doesn’t eat when we’re away & then makes up for it all night long.  He is most content when I’m carrying him around the house, looking out the windows…going for walks is hit or miss.  He doesn’t like wind AT ALL.  Gets really fussy when the wind blows on him in the carrier & usually develops the hiccups, too.  Car rides are absolutely his least favorite thing.  He screams, cries, bellows, fusses…never sleeps.  Our 14 hour trip to Colorado this July is going to be interesting… But he’s my sweetie!  I wish the days would stop racking up so quickly…

4 thoughts on “High Five!

    • I have actually thought about this in the past, but mostly in relation to my eldest son’s diet/disorders. I looked into it and, unfortunately, here in Iowa I would have to milk my own cow in order to obtain raw milk legally. I thought about traveling to Minnesota to purchase, but it’s just too far to make it worth the trek, especially with Harmon’s aversion to the car (ha!). Hoping the laws change here soon. Thanks for your comment, Sue!

      Like

Leave a Reply

