Yarn Along {my baby is a yarn snob, but he got a ‘sprinkle’ anyway}

I finished Harmon’s third Aviatrix cap over the weekend–made with Blue Sky Alpacas 100% sport weight baby alpaca in a now-discontinued yellow-green shade.  He did not like his first Aviatrix in Knit Pick’s Peruvian Wool.  Not at all.  Ok.  I knit his second in Quince & Co Chickadee–he liked that well enough, but it was just a trifle small.  Cap #3 fits great with room, but, well, below has been his reaction EVERY.SINGLE.TIME I put it on him…  He screams, rubs his face and head on stuff, tosses about…generally acts a fool until I take it off.  I’ve put his Quince & Co Aviatrix (in the colorway Belize) on his large noggin every time we’ve left the house over the course of the past week–which amounts to dozens of times due to school runs, band runs, jazz band runs, grocery runs, library runs, doctor runs…my body could use an actual run at this point–he hasn’t had an averse reaction to it once.  Not once.  So he likes his Quince & Co cap, but it’s too small…
So, of course, I cast on another Aviatrix.  Harmon’s fourth (not including the two I knit prior to his birth for his going-home outfit).  This time I’m using Quince & Co Chickadee in the color Peacoat & knitting one size larger than his Belize cap.  I also have a skein of Quince & Co Lark in Peacoat (& one in Honey) waiting in the wings.  Hoping to knit up a couple Cobblestone Baby Vests once Harmon finally has a cap that fits.  And doesn’t make him scream like an adorable banshee.

I’m about halfway through Kingbird Highway and I am hooked.  It’s a great read.  I hope to write a review of it next week.  If you like to bird, you will love this book.  If you want to go on an armchair adventure, you will love this book.  If you tend to find that the ride is often more fun than the destination, you will love this book.Here is Harmon after I took off his third Aviatrix on Tuesday.  No harm done, but never again.  I guess being a Quince & Co yarn snob isn’t so bad…it sure makes my life fantastic!  My baby will only wear my favorite yarn!   Such a problem to have… πŸ˜‰
My knitting group friends (and mostly former coworkers) threw a surprise “sprinkle” for Harmon & me this past week during our knit night.  SO SWEET of those ladies!  I love them all so much.  A “sprinkle,” I have learned from BabyCenter, is a light shower–instead of “showering” a new mother with gifts, you “sprinkle” a been-there-done-that mother with a few gifts.  This did not exist with any of my other kids. Harmon received a wonderful selection of board books & several outfits.  Your Baby’s First Word Will Be DADA by Jimmy Fallon is hilarious.  Fallon has said of the book: The thing about this book is there’s no real point to it. … It’s a selfish thing.  I just want the baby’s first word to be ‘dada.’ I don’t care if she’s smart. I have one agenda.  I loved Fallon on SNL so it makes the book all the better for me.  June has been “reading” all the new books to Harmon since the morning-after the shower.  She thinks all her “knittin’ ladies” are awesome.  You ladies so are, thank you!!!! xxoxxoxoxoxoxoxoxxoxoxxx
This is my good friend Marty at the shower (in our homeschooling loft) when she noticed Harmon was wearing knit fingerless gloves.  Shut the front door!  Needless to say she was impressed.  I know what I’ll be knitting when her next daughter pops out a grandchild!  Marty’s so cute.  I love her.  Wish I had taken more photos…  June had a tea party yesterday with her knit dolls.   The red haired one is named Ella Mae.  I knit her for Coralee when she was like 3 or 4 years old and she’s still kicking!  I’ve knit three others since then for the collection.  One is named Gloria and one is named Charlotte, but the newest one doesn’t have a name.  I asked June to name her.  She named her June.
Ella Mae enjoying her tea with June (the person) & me.

Joining in with Ginny.   

23 thoughts on “Yarn Along {my baby is a yarn snob, but he got a ‘sprinkle’ anyway}

    • Thank you, Gillian! I have never heard of knitting fingerless gloves for babies, either…I knit a pair on a whim for my etsy shop over a year ago as I had a tiny amount of Madelinetosh left in an enchanting colorway I wanted to use. Obviously no one bought the tiny gloves–such a silly thing! But they work great as baby mittens on Harmon and due to the thumb hole actually stay on better than mittens. πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. I recently learned the term “Sprinkle” myself. Great idea! I guess you will have to be very selective with what yarn you use for Harmon. My daughter was the same way for years – she had such sensitive skin. I rarely knit anything for her for a long time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I will definitely have to be more thoughtful with the yarns I choose for Harmon. No more scrapping the bottom of the stash for random skeins…more yarn shopping in my future, woohoo! πŸ˜‰

      Like

    • I wish wish wish we had started our knitting group when you were here. I showed the ladies the cap you knit Harmon and they were delighted with it and told me to tell you hello! We must knit together this year, Bernice. Perhaps in late spring Harmon and I will drive up to the Driftless Area and meet you in Decorah! Or Seed Savers–I’ve found it to be a very baby-friendly place. Xxo

      Like

  2. Love this – I make a happy face when I get to wear Qu and Co – I’m not surprised that he’s allowing you to keep it on his head πŸ˜‰ Your kids are so sweet!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely post, Rubes – the pictures are beautiful! I’d never heard of a ‘sprinkle’ either, but what a great idea! You have such lovely friends – all keepers! June’s little tea party made me wish I had been there – her guests are beautiful! Stay warm all of you – the weather is finally starting to warm up here in Tucson – still snow on the mountains though.
    Love, Mom/Nana Hammond

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh my gosh, so much goodness in your life. Congratulations from the bottom of my heart- what a beautiful baby boy he is. I am so very happy for you!. I bet he gets o much love and attention from his older siblings. Wishing you a wonderful new year ahead. You have been missed.
    xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello!!!!!! Your words are so appreciated! I didn’t blog for like 6 months and I have no idea why…I just stopped doing it. Then my parents went south for the winter and I felt like giving them updates on the blog was easier than constantly sending them photo-heavy emails. June is definitely smitten with Harmon, for sure. Coralee thinks he’s adorable and tries to style his hair into a Mohawk all the time when I’m not looking, lol. Merritt is still not really interested. I’ve missed you, too! Hope all is well in MT! xxoox

      Like

  5. Love the updates! I have to admit that while I’m pretty into rustic wool, Harmon & I may have similar feelings about alpaca. It’s not too often, but there are certain yarns I love to knit with, but just have to avoid. No actually physical tamifications except they make my skin crawl. Glad he’s got a love of Quince at such a young age! I just ordered some Willet to try – I feel a little guilty, but not too much. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • I want to try Willet, too, but I have way too much Quince in storage right now–eek. Soon, I hope. I tried the alpaca cap on him again over the weekend…nope nope nope! I guess I’ll avoid that fiber for awhile. I actually didn’t like the way the cap turned out anyway–the alpaca had like zero retention and I know it will stretch out horribly eventually. I knit an aviatrix for June in this exact yarn when she was about 2yo but in a pink colorway a–it stretched so much it was eventually useless on her. Reblocking it did nothing, unfortunately.

      Like

      • Don’t get me started on stash! Ugh! It’s all so pretty though, so I can’t be too dramatic about it. I’m working on tackling some of those long stashed projects this year (that’s part of the goal behind my 1+1+1 project). Baby steps!

        Alpaca definitely does not have the memory that wool does so it’s definitely one of those things we have to keep in mind when using it. I’ve done a couple cowls in it and a top-down beret for me that worked well. My favorite use for the sport weight alpaca though has been colorwork mittens that have a wool-silk blend lining. Some items, though, holy moly does it make my skin turn into fire!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I really do think alpaca is one of those fibers I love to touch and look at, but knitting with it just isn’t my thing. I almost feel itchy on the tops of my hands just thinking about it. It’s definitely better when stranded with a merino wool.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Giveaway! Aviatrix Cap No.5 | Being Bodeker

Leave a Reply

