To Be Three…now almost four {photo-heavy}

June turns four this weekend. I’m trying to be upbeat about this birthday & not sad that my baby is truly not a baby anymore. She keeps telling me, “Mama, I’m still your baby,” patting my hand or face as she says it.

Lots of photos in this post. Being three looks like it’s pretty awesome & I’m sure four will be even better.

{I’ve included an Interview with June at the bottom of the post.}

IMG_1021

IMG_1022

IMG_1023

IMG_1027

IMG_0943

IMG_1087

IMG_1097

IMG_1131

IMG_1091

Stockton Island, Apostle Islands, Wisc

Stockton Island, Apostle Islands, Wisc

IMG_1360

IMG_1468

IMG_1469

Pleasant Creek State Rec Area beach, Iowa

Pleasant Creek State Rec Area beach, Iowa

IMG_1842

Favorite author/illustrator

Favorite author/illustrator

IMG_1937

IMG_1936

IMG_1943

IMG_2035

IMG_2059

IMG_2736

Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving

IMG_2270

IMG_3072

IMG_3070

Indian Creek Nature Center prairie labyrinth, Iowa

Indian Creek Nature Center prairie labyrinth, Iowa

IMG_3438

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

IMG_4187

IMG_4226

IMG_4181

IMG_4179

Interview with a 3-Going-on-4-Year-Old

What’s your favorite color?  Pink.  Yellow.

What’s your favorite food?  Pizza.  And cake pops. {I think chocolate, chips & sour cream, black beans, and raw carrots constitute the majority of her diet, sadly.  For breakfast she often asks for just a bowl of milk with a spoon.}

Vegetable?  Carrots.

What’s your favorite animal?  Ponies.

Who do you love?  Co-a-lee {Coralee}

What’s your favorite pet?  Pepper {the cat}

What do you like to play?  I like to play LEGOs, that’s it.  And blocks.

Where do you like to go?  Go to rest-R-raunts.  {She likes Mexican, plain cheeseburgers, & Noodles & Co Mac & Cheese.}  Going to Nana and Papa’s.

What do you like to do outside?  Play with Merritt outside.  Eat snow, hee hee! {Mom Note:  No kidding!!!!  Thank goodness we didn’t have snow most of the winter.  She’s an addict!}

Who’s your best friend?  Co-a-lee!!!!  And Addisee {cousin}.

What’s your favorite bird?  Cardinal, the mom and dad.

What bird do you not really like?  Hawks  Why?  They eat my chickens!

What do you think you will be when you’re a big, grown-up girl and move away from home?  Go to school.  What will you do after school?  Go to another school.  {This sounds like so many people in my family…}

What’s your favorite food that mommy makes?  Cookies.

~ ~ ~

Being June

October 1, 2014: I asked her why she didn’t like my homemade squash soup, I don’t want to eat squash.  I like to PICK them, not eat them, Mom.

November 17, 2014: I attempted to read Shel Silverstein’s book “Where the Sidewalk Ends” to her.  I read a few poems & then gave up as she didn’t seem into it.  I laid the book down.  June intently examined the cover & then told me, That says creepy book.

June likes to chant, Peetzie sauce on the roof!  Peetzie sauce on the roof!–no clue where this came from.

She calls ‘swimming’–slumming.  To swim is–to slum.

The fattest, biggest chickens we own are Blue Cochins named Marianne & Margaret.  She calls them my baby chickens.

She spots a Cardinal & says–my favorite Cinda bird!–no idea why.

She thinks typing on a computer or on any other device is texting.

She can often be found sucking on a piece of ice that has been wrapped in a cloth napkin…one of her favorite pastimes once she figured out how to open the freezer.

She says, I’m the bestest girl ever.

She thinks wearing underwear on her head makes her Go Go Tomago from the film “Big Hero Six”.  She runs real fast around the house & slides on our wood floors in her socks with underwear on her head.

She loves being a matching girl to both her sister and brother–wearing the same clothes.  She’s fascinated by twins.

She calls gymnastics class jumpy class and loves her teacher to the moon & back–Miss Alyssa.

She ABHORS having her hair brushed, washed, styled.  She will, however, on occasion, tolerate her dad brushing her hair without fuss.  When told we are going to make her an appointment for a haircut {she’s only had one in her life}, she hollers I don’t want to be a boy!!!!

She equally ABHORS having her teeth brushed, but she is an angel at the dentist.  Go figure!

She LOVES her cats & chickens & puppies {2 adult English Setters} & thinks all of them should eat lots of food and then have babies.

She can identify Northern Cardinals, Northern Bobwhites (quail), Bald Eagles, Blue Jays, Downy Woodpeckers, Canada Geese, Black-capped Chickadees, and American Crows without assistance.  Thanks to the TV show “Wild Kratts,” she could probably also identify Greater Roadrunners & Peregrine Falcons if she saw either species.

But she can’t write her name nor read.  She does know how to recite the spelling of her name thanks to a little song I made up to the tune ‘O Christmas Tree’–J, U, N, E….J, U, N, E….my name is June….J, U, N, E.

She has “pet” boxelder bugs all over the house with a plethora of names.  Most of them seem to be named Foxy or Steppy.

~ ~ ~

I’m sure this is a work-in-progress list…

Happy 4th Birthday, Juniebug!

 

 

18 thoughts on “To Be Three…now almost four {photo-heavy}

  1. Happy birthday to your baby, Ruby! I can’t tell you how much I loved reading this interview and seeing all these beautiful photos of your girl growing up through her third year. Actually, I laughed out loud when I read that bit about Where the Sidewalk Ends (hehehe- so TRUE!), I remember thinking the exact same thing when I was little – the poem about the gypsies haunted me for years! Big hugs to you during this bittersweet time 🙂 XOXO

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed June’s “interview,” Leigh! Too funny about Silverstein’s book…I never really embraced his writings, either, as a kid…I remember checking the book out several times in elementary school because my friends had done the same….and then never reading it. Some of those illustrations are definitely quite “memorable”! xx

      Like

    • Thank you! My eldest will be 13 soon and she has said very similar things to me–like when I try to hug her…but she will still let me hold her hand, I cherish that for sure. Our babies are always our babies. X

      Like

    • I am so glad June can make you smile, Camilla. 🙂 I really think she would love hanging out with you and your girls–she is “pony” obsessed! Thank you for the birthday greetings! XO

      Like

    • Ha! I’ll tell Ellie that!!! Remember I was your “buddy” and Ellie was “the favorite”? June knows you think very highly of her–she talks about “the papa that thinks I’m the best” all the time. 😉

      Like

  2. What a beautiful ‘ode’ to Junie! Of course, as her grandparent I know she’s wonderful – so sweet! Beautiful pics AGAIN Ruby! You have such a talent for that! Remember how you used to pose your baby sister for pics when you were in high school? You still have the skill! Thanks so much for this blog – it is priceless! Hugs, Mom

    Liked by 1 person

    • So glad you enjoyed it, Ness! It was a fun post to put together & helped me greatly with my baby’s first “big girl” birthday. Hope your littles are well & spring has arrived in VT! xx

      Like

  3. This was absolutely amazing Ruby!!! She’s such a living doll and wow I LOVE how you interviewed her and kept notes about her from her year. That is genius! I hope you don’t mind but I want to do the same now!! And the pictures. Oh wow. She is truly a beauty. I love the dress/top she’s wearing in the first few pictures and I’m obsessed with all her sleeping pics and my heart melted at the picture of her and Coralee sitting at the table together. Love you guys!! Happy fourth birthday June! 😘

    Like

    • I totally stole that idea myself from some other random blog I used to read–lol, so totally use the idea! I need to get a post up for Merritt’s 10th birthday…such a bad mama! Thank you for the birthday wishes, Aunt Em! xoxo

      Like

Leave a Reply

