First Ski, bittersweet

June has been riding on my back as I cross-country ski since she was less than a year old.  I’ve listened to her chattering in my ear as I glide along the alfalfa field for four winters now.  Her birthday is at the end of this month and we’re thinking this will be the last year I am able to carry her while skiing.  Very bittersweet.  Brian took her skiing around the yard last night on her own set of skis (Merritt’s first pair).  The equipment was a little too big, but she was delighted with her first ski nonetheless.

Our baby girl is growing up.

(About 20/21 seconds in on the second video she pauses to listen to a bird.  That’s my girl.)

10 thoughts on “First Ski, bittersweet

  1. Oh my gosh, is that ever CUTE! But could the poles BE any bigger? She really looks like she enjoyed herself – so so so cute!!! What fun to see her out and doing that! Great video Ruby, a real keeper! Hugs, Mom

    Like

    • I suppose I shouldn’t call what she did skiing…more like walking in skis! 😉 I agree–it is wonderful when your children find an affinity for our own treasured pastimes. I’m still hoping one of my kids takes up knitting with enthusiasm, but it’s not looking good. xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

