Ask & you shall receive…

Vinton at the top of the snow total list!  We're quite proud.

Vinton at the top of the snow total list! We’re quite proud.

June braving the elements.

June braving the elements.

Winds were gusting up to 50+mph.

Winds were gusting up to 50+mph.

Waist-deep snow made this a tough hike across the yard for a 3yo.

Waist-deep snow made this a tough hike across the yard for a 3yo.

Who's been on my front stoop?

Who’s been on my front stoop?

IMG_3748[1]

Red-bellied Woodpecker.

Red-bellied Woodpecker.

Snow was pelting.

Snow was pelting.

American Tree Sparrows (right) showed up in the middle of the storm to our feeders.  Five total!  That's a record for us.

American Tree Sparrows (right) showed up in the middle of the storm to our feeders. Five total! That’s a record for us.

Brian trying to keep up with the drifting.

Brian trying to keep up with the drifting.

June was out in the snow on Sunday for all of ten minutes before she'd had enough of the wind & cold.  She "wrote" a note later in the day stating--"I'm not afraid of snow anymore.  I want to go outside and throw snowballs at each others [sic]."

June was out in the snow on Sunday for all of ten minutes before she’d had enough of the wind & cold. She “wrote” a note later in the day stating–“I’m not afraid of snow anymore. I want to go outside and throw snowballs at each others [sic].”

IMG_3742[1]

All bright & beautiful today.

All bright & beautiful today.

Winter has arrived in Iowa!  And it only took until Ground Hog’s Day!  The albedo from the snow now fills our home with bright light & has truly seemed to life my spirits.  One can only take that damp grey for so long…

Cheers to winter!

13 thoughts on “Ask & you shall receive…

  1. Hello Ruby and family! I hope you are enjoying your snow day! I have a bird report…we saw two blue birds going in and out of our blue bird house this morning 😉 and a knitting question…do you knit two at a time? I just learned how and love the way my mitts are coming out the same. Thinking of you all, Bernice

    Liked by 1 person

    • I told Coralee about your bluebirds and her mouth dropped. Really????!?!?! I’m thinking you are pulling my leg! Perhaps I’m supposed to read into the way you wrote it– blue birds….did you have two blue jays or two bluish nuthatches in your boxes? I am so intrigued!

      Like

  2. Hi Ruby, As always, I enjoyed your post and commented a few things. I just knit some mitts two at a time on circular needles and loved the process! (After the hell of trying to figure it out, of course.) But, in my enthusiasm for learning a new skill, I cast on a size small and ended up with a much too small pair for myself. Would you please check out Lenticular mitts on the Ravelry site and see if you or Coralee would like them. I made the tortoise, hare, and ivory mitts (green, brown, and cream) They as super cute but they might not be Coralee’s colors. I remember your arms being delicate, (But strong!) and think they might fit you? It would be my greatest pleasure to send them to either of you. Enjoy your day and we will plan a day together in the northeast as soon as there is a hint of spring in the valley. Bernice

    Date: Mon, 2 Feb 2015 16:45:16 +0000 To: ann79_2@hotmail.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my goodness, Bernice, Coralee absolutely loves the Lenticular mitts pattern! She would love to wear your mitts if you cannot use them. I will have to knit you something in return! I knit two socks at a time once, at least a decade ago, and I liked how slick it was! I am FOREVER creating lonely socks around here because I get sick of the pattern after the first one is finished. Our Christmas tree has many sock ornaments! I did not think to try two-at-a-time with fingerless mitts! Now that’s a good idea…boy, would that have saved me a lot of knitting time this past holiday season! We are very much looking forward to seeing you this year, yes! It would be awesome if you could meet us in the Yellow River Forest (or another hot spot) to search for a Cerulean Warbler this spring? Brian and the kids really enjoy fishing in the streams there, too.

      Like

  3. The mitts shall be sent to Coralee! I am so happy she likes them. And yes, they were eastern blue birds. I saw a blue bird here on Martin Luther King day a few years ago. Gary read an article about blue birds found huddling together in boxes during migration and asked that I don’t take the boxes down this year. I am so happy I didn’t!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Bernice! Truly a sweet thing for you to do. We will let you know when the mitts arrive. Coralee & I are in serious awe that you have bluebirds right now. She’s going to do some research (she says) today & look into this occurrence…now she wants to leave our boxes up next year, too! Such a special treat in February.

      Like

  4. Hurray for snow! Your enthusiasm makes me a little ashamed (though only a very little) of my own, not so positive response to yesterday’s snow storm. I need to remember that snow is so much better than mud – at least in February 🙂 Enjoy the white stuff – happy to see someone has overcome their fear of snow – hurray for that too! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Before I published this post I did think–perhaps–I was being a bit too happy about the snow…& may end up eating my words in 6 weeks if we’re still buried! Oh, well, you can’t take the “north” out of this girl. 😉 The older kiddos & I went for full moon snowshoe last night at a local wildlife area. The snow was so deep our snowshoes really didn’t help tremendously, but it sure felt good to be out there. Made me think of your “Musings” blog post & smile. xx

      Like

  5. I a look of determination in Junes eyes. you go girl, across the field howling winds. It’s like living in a snow globe isn’t it?
    I don’t envy you one bit about the darn wind…we have those here two and I worry sick about my horses. Love the bird shots – My gang flew away- they got so sick and tired of the Pheasants eating the food- they took off. Beautiful winter morning you woke up too- now you can go skiing again!
    xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • You & I most definitely share a desire to avoid the wind. I only really enjoy it on a beach, a southern beach when it’s hot. Bummer about your birds! Those darn pheasants…they are truly a double-edged sword here in Iowa. An introduced species, but the amount of money generated to revive their habitat also benefits all our native birds & pollinators…I hope your feathery friends return. I’ll think of you when we go skiing this weekend!

      Like

Leave a Reply

