Ramble at Dusk

“Man always kills the thing he loves, and so we the pioneers have killed our wilderness. Some say we had to. Be that as it may, I am glad I shall never be young without wild country to be young in…

Of what avail are forty freedoms without a blank spot on the map?”

–Aldo Leopold, 1949

IMG_3021[1]

IMG_3023[1]

IMG_3022[1]

IMG_3029[1]

IMG_3027[1]

IMG_3024[1]

IMG_3025[1]

IMG_3030[1]

IMG_3032[1]

Amen, Aldo.
Thanks for always keeping Leopold’s words alive for me, Dad.

~=~=~

Rambling at dusk in the marshy prairie in Dudgeon Lake State Wildlife Management Area (Iowa).
I hope my American friends found time to ramble post-Thanksgiving, too. xx

15 thoughts on “Ramble at Dusk

  1. Ruby, these photos here are so tender and moving. Its always wonderful to see such beautiful smiling faces – especially those cheeky smiles peeking out from behind you πŸ™‚ Walks out in the wilderness really are the best, especially when we can hold hands along the way, don’t you agree? (I know you do!) xoxo

    Like

    • Leigh, you are seriously the BEST ‘commenter’ ever! I have been harboring that thought for awhile. I always love reading your comments. You write so well & speak truth from the heart. Thank you for visiting the blog. And, YES, holding hands is the best! I tried to be sneaky & surreptitiously snap that photo of the hubby holding my hand (he doesn’t really like to do so, but I make him). xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

