These Trees

IMG_2735[1]

These Trees

Are my bulwark against the black as it creeps across the ridge.
Standing solid in the wind of many storms.
Their skyward tops once cut like blades of grass, but still the maples stood.
And now These Trees reach higher than before, pushing beyond the cut.

As I lope along at my chores, quickly before the dark completely drops,
These Trees exist ready, in the back of my thoughts, a safeguard.
Nature’s sentinels
These black lines, These Trees, are the last to disappear
Into the night.
As long as I can see These Trees,
I can linger for a moment more.

 

Happy weekend ahead, friends.

10 thoughts on “These Trees

  1. This is so wonderful. Some of us have a deeper appreciation of trees than others, but I really cannot explain that. Some of us have experienced living with trees so close to us, that we have an arcane respect for them, and your use of the word “sentinels” is profound, and it fits. This was good: “As long as I can see These Trees,
    I can linger for a moment more.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

