Yarn Along {Oops, I Knit it Again}

IMG_2412[1]

IMG_2413[1]

IMG_2414[1]

Sanders Pumpkin Farm, 40th & final year--2014

Sanders Pumpkin Farm, 40th & final year–2014

This past week has been spent knitting my nephew (~8 months) two hats that didn’t fit, in two different styles…frustration. So I went back to the good old Wurm pattern which I’ve literally knit like 50 times. Oh, well, it’s a classic. And I swear this third cap WILL fit. My nephew is a very very very intelligent baby…read between the lines here, folks–love you, Aunt Ellie! June was kind enough to model as she apparently has the same size head as her cousin. I used Knit Picks Gloss DK for the double-knit brim–amazingly soft stuff, an excellent substitute for Debbie Bliss Cashmerino, but with a prettier sheen. Repeated the colors pumpkin, grey-brown, and the ‘Doe’ Gloss DK in the main body. Used some label-less yarn for the other two colors, not as soft, but still wool.

We went to Sanders Pumpkin Farm last Friday on a homeschool field trip (Merritt had no school in the afternoon & was thrilled to tag along). This is the farm’s last year for pumpkins–40 years!!! Quite a milestone. We will miss the annual visit, but this will hopefully spur me to get better at growing pumpkins. We only got two this year. About 30 gourd-pumpkin hybrids (accidentally) & about 30 Butternuts. Gardening is totally a crapshoot for me, but I soak in the mistakes & my garden improves the following season as a result.

No reading this week. But I acquired more books. I may have a problem.

Joining in with Ginny.

13 thoughts on “Yarn Along {Oops, I Knit it Again}

  1. That’s it…I am knitting one, I have been wanting to for years, your sweet girl models it just beautifully- so I am inspired. How perfect for fall the colors you chose- love it….the possibilities I guess are endless with the seasons.
    Sounds like you all had a fun day at the farm 🙂

    Like

  2. Hahaha! some families wear matching t-shirts, yours wear matching hats, LOVE it! I’m sure three will be the magic number for you Ruby. Wishing you lovely day 🙂 xo

    Like

    • Volunteer plants are my favorite part of gardening! We seem to have a patch of volunteer radishes next to the raised bed due to the thinning of seedlings for the fall crop–I just flung the ones I picked out. They actually look better than the ones I purposefully grew. 🙂

      Like

      • The last time I made squash, my son told me he hated it, but at it anyway (my kids wear the ‘I hated it, but ate it anyway’ as a badge of honor these days). My daughter claimed to like it, but I’m not sure I believe that… I honestly don’t mind — more for me. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

