Yarn Along {Aviatrix}

I finished up the Aviatrix cap I was knitting for an Ella Mae Knits custom order over the weekend. June kindly put her fossil collecting & sand-village building in the dry creek bed on hold yesterday morning to model for me. I lament the day when she is no longer small enough to model the baby/toddler knits or at least use her head circumference as a gauge for size selection. But that day is clearly not today, so I’ll drop the mush.

I knit size 2-4yo using Knit Picks Swish DK in Carnation and US size 5 & 7 needles (I knit rather tightly). I have a giant bag of leftover small balls of yarn I use for the double-stacked flowers, labels long gone. I do know the top flower was knit (doubled) in the beautiful, insanely-squishy Cormo/alpaca/silk blend (in the colorway Orchid) from White Barn Farm Sheep and Wool. I would love to buy all her colorways if the money tree grew in my backyard. My favorite is Jellybeans & I have been stalking the site for its return.

June’s personality took some wild swings during this photo-op, but the cap remained delightful (as knitting tends to do, right, no matter what the temperament of the being within?) & will now be sent on its way to another little lady.

I’m fixing to begin the book The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society thanks to Leigh (her blog is a delight–thank you, Leigh!). It’s waiting for me in the holding stacks at the library.

Happy First Day of October, my most treasured month.  Autumn Admirers Unite!

Joining in with Ginny.

IMG_2243[1]

IMG_2272[1]

IMG_2242[1]

IMG_2270[1]

IMG_2271[1]

IMG_2273[1]

IMG_2155[1]

20 thoughts on “Yarn Along {Aviatrix}

  1. Adorable hat!! The flower adds so much to it! Fall is my favorite season and I’m loving it. It’s not very long season where we live, quickly making way for the freeze of winter but I do love its short appearance!

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I agree– embellishment adds a lot to the original cap design. I think fall is becoming shorter and shorter where I live (Iowa). Summer holds over too long and then bam it’s winter. Makes me so sad. Thanks for stopping by my blog. xx

      Like

  2. That’s such a cute cap and model! What wonderful pictures. I’m sure the hat is going to be well loved.

    I read “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society” on recommendation from my mother a few years ago and it’s a lovely read, so I’m sure you’re going to enjoy it when you pick it up 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing your opinion of the book! I am very excited to begin, it sounds like a fascinating read.

      I do hope the little lady receiving the cap loves it as much as I do. 🙂

      Like

  3. oh my, Ruby! What a cutie pie, I love the many faces of June 🙂 Pretty Aviatrix, I’m sure the recipient will be thrilled with it. How I have also longed for the money tree to take root in my own back yard…My house would be filled to the roof with yarn. Thanks for the link, I will go check it out and thank you, too, for the kind and generous words about the blog – so sweet. xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

