Sweet Pleat

Sweet Pleat

Sweet Pleat

Sweet Pleat

Sweet Pleat

Sweet Pleat

Sweet Pleat

 

A little Friday handknit treat for my Junebug! I have wanted to try knitting with linen for a long time as I have many pieces of linen clothing in my own wardrobe. I’ve started a couple knit dishcloths a few times with Louet Euroflax but never finished either project–the Euroflax was just too stiff & bothered my hands after awhile. When Knitbot came out with the pattern Sweet Pleat during Kids Week this month, the beautiful photographs of the finished piece hooked me {& the adorable model!}. I used the yarn specified in the pattern, Quince & Co’s Kestrel in the colorway Sand. The yarn is luxurious. The sheen is dreamy. I have found a new yarn pleasure. Sweet Pleat itself is such a simple, but elegant knit and the linen makes it a definite easy care item–perfect for a three-year-old’s lifestyle. I made June the 2yo size, but knit the 4yo size’s dress length as she is very giraffe-like for a newly-minted three-year-old. She wore the top all day today from music class to shopping to the library & received several compliments–always makes a knitter smile! She spilled milk all over the front at lunch and the linen looks no worse for the wear. Love when the week ends on a happy note! Cheers to a great weekend!

8 thoughts on “Sweet Pleat

  1. Beautiful! You make the most interesting knitted things…..makes me wish I could knit better. June is so pretty – getting older all the time! Hugs, Nana Hammond

    Like

  2. Pingback: Sweet Home{coming} Dress | Being Bodeker

  3. I was SO tempted to make one for my girl, too! Alas, I opted to wait and maybe use the pattern as a more wintery version with a handspun. Love this & happy you like Kestrel. I haven’t used it yet, but I do know Sparrow is much better to work with than any other linen I’ve used, so I would expect nothing less from Kestrel! Beautiful job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

