Some Knitting, Birding, & Good Eats {makes for a delightful weekend}

Raw Honey fingerless mitts knit in Honey & Fairytale. This is truly my absolute favorite fingerless mitts pattern ever. The chevron stitch is made with purl-bumps and is just too cool. I knit the Honey pair for Coralee & the Fairytale for me. June is now asking for her own set…my munchkin has good taste!

Raw Honey in 'Fairytale'

Raw Honey in 'Honey' & 'Fairytale'

Raw Honey in 'Honey'

Stack of Woolly Goodness

Raw Honey in 'Fairytale'

Raw Honey in 'Honey'

Iowa Young Birders trip to the Mississippi River this past Saturday–first trip of 2014! COLD, WINDY, horrid travel conditions on I-80, but great birding. In addition to the large numbers of Bald Eagles (eagle photos below courtesy of Coralee, my 11-year old, through the scope with her iPod), we saw a lonely Horned Grebe (which we are told is quite rare for our area and time of year), bunches of American Black Ducks, Mallard Ducks, Canvasbacks, and Common Goldeneyes. There is a juvenile Herring Gull photobombing my fairly awful photo just below….I should really bring the good camera on birding trips.

Mississippi River, Davenport, IA

Bald Eagle

Bald Eagle

Bald Eagle

Bald Eagle

On our way home through the snow & wind, we stopped off at one of our favorite little bar & grills, the Sutliff Tavern. SUCH a hole-in-the-wall, but the food is incredibly scrumptious (the burgers absolutely melt in your mouth) & the view of the restored Sutliff Bridge is a feast for the eyes. We hadn’t planned to stop, but Merritt was (we thought) extremely carsick & needed a breather (turns out he has a viral infection). June fell asleep in the car during the last hour of the birding trip while the group was fruitlessly searching for a local pair of Peregrine Falcons on a city building. She was happy & rested a couple hours later & ready for her basket of fries (which she REFUSED to share, guess birding makes you hungry!).

June_Miss. River

June_Sutliff

Sutliff Bridge

Coralee_Sutliff Bridge

Sutliff Bridge

I think braving the cold of winter on an adventure truly soothes the soul…but that could just be my Wisconsin-roots talking. 🙂

9 thoughts on “Some Knitting, Birding, & Good Eats {makes for a delightful weekend}

  1. Ruby, your blog is well written–interesting, supported well by photos, good decisions on content. I like it. Thanks.
    Daddy p.s.Tell June I miss her.

    Like

    • Thank you, Dad, for the supportive words! Your opinion means a great deal, truly. I can’t wait to read your published novel…writing must be in our genes. P.S. June says she missa her Papa, too.

      Like

  2. Lovely post Ruby! The pics were outstanding, especially the eagle ones and Junie sleeping – very peaceful. I love the fingerless mittens, can I have a pair please? please? please? Hugs, Mom

    Like

    • I will most definitely make you a pair, yes. 🙂 I found a pattern today for June’s size so once those are done, I will work on yours. Would you consider yourself a small or medium hand? Both Coralee & I wear the small size but they are a little tight on me….Coralee is very proud of those eagle photos she took. She nearly froze her fingers off–the windchill was horrendous and there were white caps on the open water!

      Like

  3. Ruby, Thank you so much for the card. We loved the pictures of the kids. The tea was a much added bonus. It has a true chocolate taste. I’m sold! Stay warm, we have another cold front coming on Sunday. Bernice Date: Tue, 21 Jan 2014 00:57:50 +0000 To: ann79_2@hotmail.com

    Like

    • I love that new Tazo, too! My current favorite for sure! We’re getting ready here for this crazy weather. Hope you and G are hunkered down by a warm fire with a good book/knitting project & enjoying the Iowa winter!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Where everybody knows your name {well, not exactly} | Being Bodeker

Leave a Reply

